Alabama Child Abandonment Laws
By Alexis Writing
Child image by Serenitie from Fotolia.com
According to Child Welfare.gov, a child is considered abandoned if the identity or location of his parents isn't known; if he's been left by his parents and suffered serious harm as a result; or if a parent hasn't contacted the child within a reasonable period of time or hasn't provided support for the child for a specified period. Laws regarding child abandonment differ from state to state, and Alabama has its own laws for those who abandon children.
Termination of Parental Rights
To terminate parental rights, the Alabama court must have clear and convincing evidence that the child's parents are unable to care for the child properly, that their ability to do so will not improve in the near future, and that they are unwilling or unable to give up their parental responsibilities for that child. If the parents have abandoned their child, the court may consider this as clear and convincing evidence and therefore terminate parental rights. If such abandonment continues for four months or more, this is considered proof that the parents are unable or unwilling to act as parents, and rights can be severed.
Misdemeanor Charges for Abandonment
When a parent, guardian or other person legally responsible to care for a child who is under 18 years of age deserts that child somewhere with intent to abandon that child, that person has committed the crime of abandonment. In Alabama, child abandonment is a Class A misdemeanor.
Read More: What Is Child Abandonment?
Safe Haven Law
Alabama has what is called a Safe Haven Law, a law that allows parents to give up custody of their baby with no questions asked. To do this, the parent should bring the baby to an emergency medical facility and give the baby to an emergency medical services provider. The parent does not have to give her name or any other information, as long as the child shows no signs of intentional abuse. The baby must be 72 hours old or younger. The EMS provider who received the child should report the incident to the Department of Human Resources by the close of the first business day after the child has been delivered.
Alexis Writing has many years of freelance writing experience. She has written for a variety of online destinations, including Peternity.com. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in communication from the University of Rochester.