Tennessee Divorce Laws: How Soon After Divorce Can You Remarry?
By Jimmy Verner
Sometimes a divorcing spouse is anxious to finish the divorce because he wants to remarry. Technically, Tennessee law has no restrictions on how long you must be divorced to remarry, but you should wait at least 30 days. If your ex-spouse decides to appeal the case during this time period, you won't be divorced after all.
Final Divorce Decree
Tennessee law allows you to remarry as soon as you are absolutely divorced. However, a divorce can be appealed up until 30 days after the of the date of the final hearing. Your spouse could be unhappy with the property division, child custody arrangements -- or the fact of the divorce itself. If your spouse appeals, you are still married because no final judgment has been entered in your case, so you're not free to marry again until the appeal is decided or resolved.
Jimmy Verner, a lawyer since 1979, is Board-certified in family law and in civil trial law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. Verner practices family law in Dallas.